Ted O’Halloran

Latin Prize


The Ted O’Halloran Latin Prize is awarded annually to the best student in Latin in a 300-level unit. The prize, kindly donated by John O’Halloran and Michael Gray, is named in memory of John’s father Mr Ted O’Halloran.


Edmund Alfred (Ted) O’Halloran KSS (1917-2005) was born in Temora, NSW, but lived most of his life in Sydney, except when on active service in the RAAF during World War II. After graduating with a degree in Laws from the University of Sydney, he became in time a distinguished solicitor and public company director.  Throughout his life he highly esteemed the value of a liberal arts education, and was an active supporter of Campion College from its inception.

Sr. Lorna O’Brien

Medieval History Prize

Notre Dame

The Sr Lorna O’Brien Medieval History Prize is awarded annually to the student obtaining the highest mark in HIS204: The Medieval World. The prize, kindly donated by Mrs. Anne Buchan, is in honour of Mrs. Buchan’s late sister, Sr. Lorna O’Brien.


Born on 8th August 1931 at Young, Lorna Elizabeth was the fourth of nine children. Her parents, James Ernest (Ern) and Annie Bridget (née Connell) O’Brien, resided at “Marree”, Greenethorpe, on the fertile plains of the South West Slopes of New South Wales. After completing her Leaving Certificate at Our Lady of Mercy College Goulburn (where Sr. Lorna studied), she entered St. Michael’s Novitiate, North Goulburn on 25th March 1949. Having taken her first vows in January 1952, she celebrated forty years of her Religious Profession at the time of her death on 27th August 1992, after a five-year battle with Cancer.


Though Sr. Lorna, A. Mus. A. (A.M.E.B) (piano), spent most of her working life teaching music on a one-to-one basis, she sought permission in her fifties to switch paths. Her new commission was to study at Mount Street Teachers’ College in North Sydney, under the auspices of the Sisters of St. Joseph (Brown Josephites). Graduating as an Infants’ Teacher, Sister Lorna’s great joy in the next few years was being with young children in the classroom and, especially, preparing them to receive the Sacraments.


Vitally interested in Catholic Education, she also followed the development of each of her many nieces and nephews with loving dedication. In later years she gave her holidays to helping care for her ageing parents. Her life from her earliest days was dedicated to God in the people He placed around her.


A lover of music, Sister was gifted with a beautiful soprano voice. She took charge of school choirs wherever she was posted and prepared many a choral group accompanying the Sacred Liturgy.

May her prayers help the staff, students and benefactors of Campion College; may Sr Lorna O’Brien R.S.M rest in peace.

Noreen Mavis Daley

Poetry Prize



The Noreen Mavis Daley Poetry Prize is endowed by the late Royston Porthouse in memory of his mother.

  1. The Noreen Mavis Daley Poetry Prize is open to all students formally enrolled in a Campion College degree or subject.
  2. The Prize will be awarded to an original, unpublished poem not exceeding 50 lines. There are no generic or thematic constraints.
  3. Entries will not be under offer to any publication, or offered for publication, until the adjudication is finalised and the winner is notified.
  4. The prize will normally be awarded to a single poem/poet, with up to two highly-commended entries notified. The winner is notified personally and will be presented with a prize of $250 at the ‘Reveillon” dinner that ends the academic year. There are no prizes for the highly commended entries.
  5. Only one entry (poem) is permitted per person.
  6. Entries should be printed, one side only, on A4 paper. Entries are assessed in their original forms only. No subsequent revision or resubmission is permitted.
  7. Personal details should not appear on any manuscript to ensure discretion and fair dealing. Please supply full details as required on the separate Entry Form.
  8. Manuscripts will not be returned.
  9. The College and Trustees of this prize accept no liability for loss of or damage to manuscripts.
  10. The decision of the judging panel is final. No subsequent correspondence will be entered into.
  11. The judge/s reserve the right not to award the prize in any given year.
  12. The College reserves the right to publish the winning poem and any of the highly recommended entries on its website and in any College publication, such as its regular newsletter Campion’s Brag.


Past Winners:

2016: Jonathan Grace

2015: Jean Seah

2014: Elyse Burns

2013: Therese Schaeffer

2012: Elyse Burns

2011: Siobhan Reeves

2010: Siobhan Reeves

Joseph Swanson

2009: Siobhan Reeves