Awards & Prizes

Awards & Prizes

College Medal

The award of the College Medal is determined by the Academic Board and recognises the achievement of outstanding academic results throughout a Bachelor of Arts in the Liberal Arts student’s program of study. The College Medal is awarded to the graduand(s) meeting the below criteria with the highest average mark.

To be eligible for consideration, a graduand must:

  • be graduating from the Campion College Bachelor of Arts in the Liberal Arts;
  • have completed at least two thirds of the units of study required for the course as a student enrolled at Campion College;
  • have completed the final semester at Campion College (i.e. not as study abroad); and have an average mark across all units of study studied of at least 85;
  • have demonstrated that they possess the Campion College graduate attributes.

  • 2022: Gareth Cassidy
  • 2021: Sophia Shogren
  • 2020: Johanna Ryan
  • 2019: Brianna McKee
  • 2018: Laura Ryan
  • 2017: Jessica Buchanan
  • 2016: Nicholas Augimeri
  • 2015: Jean Seah and Christian Bergmann
  • 2014: Mark Makowiecki and Robert van Gend
  • 2013: Dylan Littler
  • 2012: Anna Hitchings and Keziah Doughty
  • 2011: Siobhan Reeves
  • 2010: Natasha Marsh
  • 2009: Laura Meli and Ivy Del Rosario
  • 2008: Olivia Meese


Frank Sheed Public Speaking Competition

Students are asked to speak on one of three topical subjects and a short speech. Topics for 2019 were:

  • Does Australia need a Religious Discrimination Bill?
  • “Australia’s asylum seeker policy is unchristian.” Discuss.
  • Do women have to choose between career and family?

  • 2022: Gareth Cassidy
  • 2019: Pearce Lyall
  • 2018: Elizabeth Phillips
  • 2017: Joseph Yeo
  • 2016: Nicholas Augimeri
  • 2015: Nicholas Augimeri
  • 2014: Robert van Gend
  • 2013: Evelyn Ballard
  • 2012: Robert van Gend
  • 2011: Keziah Doughty
  • 2010: David Chilnicean
  • 2009: Alec Hobbs


Ted O’Halloran Latin Prize

The Ted O’Halloran Latin Prize is awarded annually to the best student in Latin in a 300-level unit. The prize, kindly donated by John O’Halloran and Michael Gray, is named in memory of John’s father Mr Ted O’Halloran.

Edmund Alfred (Ted) O’Halloran KSS (1917-2005) was born in Temora, NSW, but lived most of his life in Sydney, except when on active service in the RAAF during World War II. After graduating with a degree in Laws from the University of Sydney, he became in time a distinguished solicitor and public company director. Throughout his life he highly esteemed the value of a liberal arts education, and was an active supporter of Campion College from its inception.


Noreen Mavis Daley Poetry Prize

The Noreen Mavis Daley Poetry Prize is endowed by the late Royston Porthouse in memory of his mother.

The Noreen Mavis Daley Poetry Prize is open to all students formally enrolled in a Campion College degree or subject. The Prize will be awarded to an original, unpublished poem not exceeding 50 lines. There are no generic or thematic constraints.

  • Entries will not be under offer to any publication, or offered for publication, until the adjudication is finalised and the winner is notified.
  • The prize will normally be awarded to a single poem/poet, with up to two highly-commended entries notified. The winner is notified personally and will be presented with a prize of $250 at the ‘Reveillon” dinner that ends the academic year. There are no prizes for the highly commended entries.
  • Only one entry (poem) is permitted per person.
  • Entries should be printed, one side only, on A4 paper. Entries are assessed in their original forms only. No subsequent revision or resubmission is permitted.
  • Personal details should not appear on any manuscript to ensure discretion and fair dealing. Please supply full details as required on the separate Entry Form.
  • Manuscripts will not be returned.
  • The College and Trustees of this prize accept no liability for loss of or damage to manuscripts.
  • The decision of the judging panel is final. No subsequent correspondence will be entered into.
  • The judge/s reserve the right not to award the prize in any given year.
  • The College reserves the right to publish the winning poem and any of the highly recommended entries on its website and in any College publication, such as its regular newsletter Campion’s Brag.

  • 2022: Dougal Sinclair
  • 2021: Deon Robleh Testore
  • 2020: Lucy Margaret-Mary Smith
  • 2019: Gareth Cassidy
  • 2018: Lucy Smith
  • 2017: Therese Horsfall
  • 2016: Jonathan Grace
  • 2015: Jean Seah
  • 2014: Elyse Burns
  • 2013: Therese Schaeffer
  • 2012: Elyse Burns
  • 2011: Siobhan Reeves
  • 2010: Siobhan Reeves and Joseph Swanson
  • 2009: Siobhan Reeves