Formal Hall returns to Campion for first time in a year

Formal-Hall-2021-01-edited-12-scaled-1. Campion College Australia.
Formal-Hall-2021-01-edited-12-scaled-1. Campion College Australia.
15 Mar 2021

Awards were handed out and announcements made at the first formal hall celebrated at Campion in over a year.

The fortnightly dinner, a staple Campion tradition since the college’s foundation, was put on pause in March last year due to Covid-19 restrictions introduced to NSW.

Staff and students reunited for the formal meal on Thursday night, held outside to allow for additional spacing and airflow (see photos of the event below).

President Paul Morrissey welcomed new students and old to the event, giving an introduction to the tradition of formal hall.

Dr Morrissey also spoke about the newly-named female residential building, Ryder-Cheshire Hall, named after English philanthropists Leonard Cheshire and Sue Ryder, who married each other after serving in World War II.

Following Dr Morrissey’s speech, Dean of Studies Luciano Boschiero handed out the Dean’s Merit Awards for the second semester of 2020 (see a full list below).

Campion College Student Association president Campbell Evans announced the new student sport and culture representatives for the year:

Sport rep: Paul Yeo

Culture reps: Clare Hobbs and Elizabeth Rebbechi


Dean’s Merit Awards


High Distinction Average

Sophie Ryan

Andrew Murphy (Grad)

Ashleigh Mills

Sophia Shogren

Campbell Evans

Warwick Stacey

Eliza Tome

Thomas Galouzis (Grad)

Deon Testore


Distinction Average

Susanna Kent

Keika Nishihara

Catherine Fanning

April Coulson (Grad)

Emily Zmegac

Patrick O’Connell (Grad)

Lauren Brodie

Paul Murphy

John-Paul Canavan

Lillian Murphy (Grad)

Grace Hempel

Isabelle Lindsey

Naomi McClarty

Ariel Casanova

Katherine Pistor (Grad)

Simeon Casey

Anna Burton

Mary English (Grad)

Nicholas Lim (Grad)

Elizabeth Phillips

Phoebe Lawrence (Grad)

Naomi Fanning

James Price (on leave)

Catherine Meese

Bridge Knight (Grad)

Charity Power